Thursday, December 20, 2012

Pro-Zuma NEC announced at Mangaung

20 DEC 2012 17:22 - STAFF REPORTER In a further vote of confidence in ANC president Jacob Zuma, party delegates voted in a pro-Zuma slate, punishing those who had challenged him. SPECIAL FOCUS Mangaung 2012: A special report OUR COVERAGE ANC's provincial chairs meet to place their NEC orders Maharaj, Block and others decline ANC NEC nominations Kgalema Motlanthe declines ANC NEC nomination MORE COVERAGE Demand to disband ANCYL NEC referred to ANC national executives The NEC list as announced at the ANC's conference in Mangaung on Thursday didn't include Tokyo Sexwale, Matthew Phosa, Thandi Modise or Fikile Mbalula. Their exclusion from the NEC throws their political futures into serious doubt. Senior ANC officials who were left off the the 80-member council at the ANC's previous elective conference in Polokwane have been virtually unheard of since Zuma came to office in 2009. Former defence minister Mosiuoa Lekota teamed up with former Gauteng premier Mbhazima Shilowa to form Congress of the People after the pair's fortunes turned in the ANC. But, former government ministers such as Alec Erwin, Essop Pahad and Charles Nqakula have been in the political wilderness since they left their government posts. The list included Pule Mabe, former ANC Youth League treasurer who turned against Zuma's detractors in the league and threw his lot in with the president. Controversial former Gauteng mec for housing Humphrey Memezi also made the list to huge cheers from the audience. Finance minister Pravin Gordhan has been added to the NEC, as Trevor Manuel has stepped out. One of the concerns around Manuel's quitting politics was that there would not be a representative from the finance and economic cluster in cabinet on the NEC. Others on the list included Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Malusi Gigabe, Lindiwe and Max Sisulu, Collins Chabane, Naledi Pandor, Derek Hanekom and Tito Mboweni. The electoral commission of the ANC together with the provincial monitors decided to present elected members, and make the full results available at a later stage. "The announcement follows a tradition in the ANC in that those who have been successfully elected join officials on stage to take their rightful position on the NEC," despite how long that would take, they acknowledged. List so far: Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma Malusi Gigaba Lindiwe Sisulu Collins Chabane Jeff Radebe Naledi Pandor Derek Hanekom Pravin Gordhan Tito Mboweni Nathi Mthethwa Max Sisulu Bathabile Dlamini Pallo Jordan Blade Nzimande Jackson Mthembu Aaron Motsoaledi Enoch Godongwana Zizi Kodwa Ebrahim Ebrahim Ayanda Dlodlo Lynne Brown Siyabonga Cwele Nomvula Mokonyane Nomaindia Mfeketo Thulas Nxesi Sidumo Dlamini Ruth Nozabelo Bhengu Maite Nkoana-Mashabane Obed Bapela Billy Masethle Ngoako Ramatlhodi Angie Motshekga Lindiwe Zulu Joel Netshitenzhe Tina Joemat-Pettersson Rejoice Mabudafhasi Susan Shabangu Mildred Oliphant Sue van der Merwe Rosemary Zoleka Dolly Mthembi-Mahanyele Joe Phaahla Fikile Majola Joyce Mashamba Pam Tshwete Stone Sizani Bheki Cele Humphrey Memezi Pule Mabe Dikeledi Magadzi Bheki Cele Sam Mashinini Miriam Segabutla Winnie Madikizela-Mandela Thoko Didiza Rosinah Semenya Edna Molewa Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba David Mahlobo Tony Yengeni Fikile Xasa Sisi Mabe Full list to come. Mail & Guardian - - - - COMMENTS BY SONNY - - - Will Zuma have to conduct politics from his 'BUNKER' in the near future? He is fast running out of 'Old Friends!' His newly bought comrades will devour SA's wealth in one year...... What was the real meaning of "Reconciliation Day 2012? WAS IT JUST A ZULU HOLIDAY

No comments:

Post a Comment